Audio for PD170

7 replies [Last post]
Warubozu808

I just purchased a PD170 and am trying to get familiar with it in preparation for a celebration in May that I want to video. I'm assuming that there will be some sort of mixing board on site to handle the microphones and music. I'm looking at purchasing a Seinnheiser ME66 microphone for on camera and probably using a XLR cable to connect to the output of the mixing board.

I have a few questions with regards to this setup. Do most mixing boards have an XLR output that I can connect my camera to? Also, once connected, what do I need to do to make sure the levels are correct for the audio? Do I need the board operator to do anything or is it all on my end? Would the ME66 be a good "all around" mic for my purposes vs. the stock Sony mic?

I'm new to this but want the best quality possible but I need some help figuring out how to setup the audio for the shoot. Anyone with suggestions or links to sites with this kind of info? Or if you suggest a different setup I'm open to anything since I haven't purchased anything as of yet? Oh and how long of a XLR cable should I get? I've seen 100' of cable for about $60 at a local music store. How long is TOO long? TIA

Mick jenner

This link will help answer some of your questions concerning the Mic www.alanbarker.com

regards

Mick

John Willett at Home

K6+ME66 should be fine. Just make sure you get a Rycote Softie for it and a decent camera shockmount (eg: Rycote Multimount).

If you are mixing several microphones together then it is the responsibility of the mixing engineer to provide the cameraman with the correct mix. The cameraman should only have to make sure the input record level on the camera is set correctly and leave everything else to the mixing engineer.

Most decent mixers have XLR outputs, though some are on jacks.