A very simple question (I hope). When one uses “Delete” (or Shift-Delete) to delete a file, I understand that it is not really deleted, one only deletes its “pointer” that tell the OS where the file is. The file itself is still in the hard disk, and that is why one sometimes can recover it with the appropriate software.
What happens if instead of deleting a file, one uses the MOVE command to move it to a different disk? Is the file in its original place still recoverable as when it is deleted?
Donald Richards (ernesto17)
Delete = recycle bin , file renamed usually with a preceeding $ sign in place of first real character , and hidden
Shift-Delete =space available for another file , but still there till file space overwritten
MOVE = same outcome as Shift-Delete , the space is freed up , but file technically still there till overwritten.
SO , YES is answer to Is the file in its original place still recoverable as when it is deleted?
Downloaded a program once to recover deleted photos on an SD card.
don't recall what the program was called, but it worked a treat.
Many thanks to harlequin and Fergie for their answers. Now I know!